The Synodical Ordinariate Canons


Statement of Purpose:

All references referring to The Celtic Catholic Church do so as the Ecclesia of Jurisdiction and are to be understood as the Governing Canons, Disciplines, and Principles of Faith for the Synodical Ordinariate of St. John. 

The Celtic Catholic Church strives to institute a missionary and religious life ministry, as did the early Celtic faith communities through the establishment of The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John. This collective church works to establish cell and home-based societies in an effort to form close Christian groups of like-minded persons with a supportive fellowship among its members. This ordinariate is not interested in the number or size and geographic boundaries of its societies, but rather in the understanding, sincerity, and strength its members have in practicing the early Christian faith in the communities where they live and work. There is no expressed desire to take the place of any member's respective church or denomination, this missionary, and religious life ministry is so designed to be an extraordinary supplement to the Christian and spiritual life of its members. We encourage all our members to continue their association and fellowship with other like-minded institutions for the advancement of Christ's Church on earth.


Declaration of Historical Origin:

By tradition and history, the Celts are acknowledged as the first Christian community outside the Holy Land. Since Celtic Christianity was established prior to the first century it is classified as pre-Nicene. The wandering elders (clergy) of the earliest communities were loosely organized and served the many and varied Celtic tribes throughout Europe that had accepted a common form of Christian faith. The Celts were a people formed as tribal societies united by family, language, and faith. Celtic Christianity is believed to have been formed about 37 AD by the Apostle John and was always autonomous, never serving any head of state, king, pontiff, or patriarch. These faith communities and societies spread throughout the Roman Empire. Traditional Celtic Christianity was passed on orally until the fourth century when the Celts began to adopt Latin as their formal means of written communications.


During the third and fourth centuries, the Celtic clergy (monks) founded and operated abbeys throughout Europe and the British Isles, including Ireland. These clergy or monks were never well organized and operated as wondering missionaries who played a critical role in both maintaining and establishing Christianity during the dark and middle ages.


The modern Celtic churches are totally independent jurisdictions and are members of the historic Celtic Synod through valid lines of apostolic succession through valid eastern and western apostolic lines. (Order of Corporate Reunion)


The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John is established as a continuing mission of the historic Celtic Synod. This ordinariate has a limited hierarchy and is served by non-stipend clergy or monks, who are not bound by vows of celibacy. The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John does not employ or pay any stipend to any of the members of its jurisdiction and as a free association of like-minded individuals cannot be held liable for their actions.  They endeavor to restore the simplicity, purity, and original intent of Christian worship, free of the religious doctrines, dogmas, and traditions that have accumulated over the centuries. The church embraces the Teachings of the Twelve Apostles, as well as the Teachings ascribed to St. Paul and other disciples of Jesus Christ within the earliest formulate years of the one, holy, catholic, and apostolic church. St. John is the patron Apostle. The lines of Apostolic Succession are traced back to St. John, St. James, and St. Peter. There is an indirect line traced to St. Paul. 


The Celtic Societies of St. James and St. Mary and its associated orders, emphasize fellowship, and a personal and honest relationship with both God and Humankind. The societies encourage all people of faith to recognize the joy and personal peace that comes from respecting all of God's creatures, and creation as a whole, from understanding and applying the teachings of our Lord, Jesus Christ.

The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John maintains membership in the Province of South Central United States of America of the Episcopal (Anglican) Free Communion under the corporate name The Celtic Church of the Americas. 


The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John is a voluntary organization and as such the clergy, including bishops, and/or monks are volunteers of said organization.  The practice of ministry is open to those who by their commitment to Christ feel they are so-called into this special relationship. The freedom to serve in this ordinariate is limited to only those activities that are legally recognized by the society and governmental regulations thereof. All illegal activity will be reported to the proper jurisdictional authorities. It is clearly understood that the church, as an institution, shall not be held in liability for any actions of its volunteers.


Articles of Incorporation:

The Articles of Incorporation were filed on January 24, 2005, in the State of Mississippi, as a Non-Profit Corporation. The legal name of this corporation is The Celtic Church in Mississippi, Inc. On January 27, 2020, an amendment was filed and approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State to add a "hereby be known as" name to the charter. As of January 27, 2020, the public name of this Church Collective shall be known as The Celtic Catholic Church of the Americas. The legal name remains unchanged. However, for purposes of clarity the name, The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John will be used so as not to confuse this church collective with sister churches using similar styled names. 


The ByLaws of The Celtic Catholic Church of the Americas shall be known as The Canons, Disciplines, and Principles of The Celtic Catholic Church of the Americas. as defined below and will apply to The Synodical Ordinariate of St. John. 


Canon 1:  The Mission.

Canon 2:  Liturgy. 

Canon 3: The Sacraments as to Matter and Form.

Canon 4: Membership, Creeds, and Ecclesiastical Governance.

Canon 5:  39 Articles of Religion, revised 1870 AD.

Canon 6: The Incorporation of The Didache, "Teachings of the Apostles."

Canon 7:  Ordination to Holy Orders.

Canon 8: The Church Diocesan Discipline and Instruments of Order.

Canon 9: The Establishment of the Celtic Society of St. James.

Canon 10: The Establishment of the Society of Mary, Mother of Consolation.

Canon 11: Extraterritorial Jurisdictions:

Sign up for newsletter.

©2020 The Celtic Catholic Church of the Americas.  ​

  • Facebook